Pictured L-R: Sydney Chittenden, Cameron Oke, Olivia Hopper, SSA Nominees

It was a night of celebration and recognition for Regional Academy of Sport (RAS) athletes and coaches. The 11 Academies from across New South Wales came together to celebrate and recognise the achievements of our athletes and coaches across five categories, with the winner being selected from nominations from each of the RAS:

  • Athlete of the Year – Alesha Bennets (Athletics), Western Region Academy of Sport
  • Athlete Leadership – Mia Parker (LoneStar / Water Polo), Illawarra Academy of Sport
  • Coach Leadership – Robyn Low Hart (Triathlon), Central Coast Academy of Sport
  • Indigenous Athlete of the Year – Telaya Blacksmith (Athletics, AFL), Illawarra Academy of Sport
  • AWD (Athlete with Disability) of the Year – Josh Hanlon (Para Alpine Skiing), Southern Sports Academy

The Award’s dinner, proudly supported by Steadfast and Underwriting Agencies Australia (UAA), was a great success.

The RAS are grateful to have the support of Wenty Leagues Club, for their great hospitality and contribution to the night. Another big thank you to the State Sporting Organisations (SSO’s) who attended and supported the local athletes and coaches for their hard work.

RAS continues to grow in recognition and significance, across a wide range of organisations, such as the NSW Government, the NSW Institute of Sport, Paralympics Australia, and State Sporting Organisations, as we transition to Australia’s 2032 Brisbane Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Guests included the Minister for Sport Alister Henskens SC MP, and representatives from our major stakeholders, Academy staff, athletes and parents.

A big congratulations to our SSA nominees: Josh Hanlon (AWD Athlete of the Year), Kaelani Goolagong (Indigenous Athlete of the Year), Cameron Oke (Coach of the Year), Olivia Hopper (Athlete Leadership Award) and Sydney Chittenden (Athlete of the Year).